Cold brew coffee

OK, so I was kind of late to the trend but I have been fairly obsessed with cold brew coffee for the back half of this summer. It’s so simple and easy and so delightful.

I’m not going to link to a recipe because when I initially googled this I found a bunch saying about the same thing. What you do is: 1) take 3/4 cup of coarsely, freshly ground coffee – I grind the beans just before and do a bit at a time with 5-6 quick pulses (and everything I’ve read says it should be coarse and should be brewed right after grinding – it might be fine if you just buy and use pre-ground coffee but the coffee snobs of the internet say this won’t do and ya know, if it’s on the internet it must be true!) 2) add 4 cups of water 3) store in an airtight container for anywhere between 6 and 24 hours (I’ve seen various recommendations – I have had success with aiming for 12, but have tried 24 hours and it was still good, but strong!) and this is supposed to be at room temperature rather than in the fridge 3) filter 4) store in the fridge for as long as it takes you to get through the 8 or however many servings you get out of it (which, for me, tends to be a couple of days because I go through it like water).

I use mason jars because that’s the trendy thing to do and they’re fun and cute, even though their mouths lead to me spilling more than I’d like. They are good to satisfy the “airtight container” requirement.

Freshly ground, very coarse beans (you’ll see a couple even ended up left whole):

IMG_1772

With water added and left to soak:

IMG_1773 IMG_1774

This is the process of filtering it from its soaking state in the big mason jar to a smaller mason jar, using my Bonavita single-serving slow brew coffee cone, with a paper filter inside. I pour slowly and carefully and some of the grinds end up in the cone/filter but a lot are left in the original jar. The Bonavita is just my preferred coffee maker, for my hot coffee usually too, but you could do any kind of cone shape with a filter, or pour the whole jar in a french press and separate that way.

IMG_1781 IMG_1782

And then you end up with delicious and refreshing iced coffee!

IMG_1770

I take my coffee black and have been doing the same with this, served over ice, but if that’s not your thing, you can obviously add milk, and I would recommend using a simple syrup rather than sugar, because back when I took sugar in my coffee I always found it didn’t really dissolve in cold drinks.

One thought on “Cold brew coffee

Leave a Reply

