Happiness is a square of rocky road

Rocky road is something I only discovered recently, and let me tell you, this is a crowd pleaser! I brought it into the office and people went nuts over it. This is something that is super duper quick and easy to make, and everyone loves it, so I recommend this if you need to bring desserty/snacky things to a potluck! It is also super unhealthy and a calorie bomb, so definitely something I would rather share than end up eating all myself.

I used this recipe but every recipe for rocky road I’ve seen uses the same basic formula. The first time I made this, I added walnut pieces, but someone at work was allergic to walnuts so this time I made it without so she could try it. I didn’t add any other optional add ins. I was also thanked for not adding nuts by people who claim to not like nuts but I swear the walnut pieces last time were so small that they weren’t even noticed as walnuts, just added a bit of extra texture.

So I used the Digestives that already have dark chocolate on them, not necessarily for the added chocolate boost, but because it was available in the 200g box whereas the plain Digestives were only available in the larger boxes, and I didn’t want leftovers (the added chocolate boost is just a bonus!). Here they are crushed up in a bag:

IMG_2031 IMG_2036

And here’s what (approximately) 100g of marshmallows looks like:

IMG_2032

And here’s my chocolate, butter and syrup melting on the stove, early on and nearly done (this process is only about 5 minutes, on quite low heat):

IMG_2034 IMG_2035

With the Digestives and marshmallows added (you can only see the marshmallows, but the biscuits are in there!), and spread in the pan with paper lining:

IMG_2037 IMG_2038

After two hours or so in the fridge, with a dusting of powdered sugar, cut into 16 relatively-even squares, and ready to serve!

IMG_2040 IMG_2041

IMG_1725

And gone in minutes of laying them out for grabs!

Here are the (terrible) nutrition facts for 16 even squares:

Screen Shot 2015-09-05 at 2.02.54 PM

When I made them with the walnuts, they were more like 300 cals.

Leave a Reply

