Pumpkin oatmeal cookie sandwiches with cinnamon cream cheese icing filling

Whew, that title’s a mouthful!

OK so this was inspired by this recipe for “oatmeal pumpkin creme pies” except I read it a while before actually planning to make it, at the same time I was looking at a lot of pumpkiny type recipes, and then when I went back to it, I was like “wait, weren’t the cookies themselves pumpkin? Am I confusing this with another recipe I read?” but I couldn’t find what I had been thinking of so I ended up just separately looking up recipes for pumpkin oatmeal cookies and cream cheese icing filling. So I ended up using the cookies from this recipe (but not the glaze) and the icing from this recipe (but not the cupcakes) and doing a mishmash.

Also, I only made half the recipe for each. Which was fine, except I always find it a little tricky to use half an egg when halving a recipe that calls for just one egg. Oh well. Here’s the step by step process and results:

The cookies:

Dry ingredients:

IMG_2268

Wet ingredients, at various stages of evolution (butter and sugar blended, then incorporating egg/vanilla, half of the dry ingredients and pumpkin, then all dry ingredients and pumpkin):

IMG_2269 IMG_2270 IMG_2271 IMG_2272

Balls of dough laid out raw, then at the 12 minute mark(for the second time in, I only did another 10 minutes instead of another 12):

IMG_2274 IMG_2277

I thought I took a photo of them once done before icing, but apparently not. You can use your imagination.

The icing, at the cream cheese/butter phase and once done:

IMG_2275 IMG_2276

And here’s the icing process:

IMG_2278

And the completed, wonderful cookie sandwich!

IMG_2279

Now, these are a calorie bomb if eaten as a full sandwich, but not quite so bad if just eaten as a half sandwich (one cookie with icing). Which was how I intended to take them as a serving for myself (after serving friends the full sandwich of unhealthiness), but once I had one iced cookie, whoops, I accidentally inhaled another one. C’est la vie. I don’t do this every week. It was for a friend’s birthday.

So here is the nutrition info, which is separated by each cookie and one serving of icing (shows as 32 servings because I just copied over the info from the recipe pages, without adjusting for half, but still the same for each individual one:

The cookie:

Screen Shot 2015-09-22 at 9.07.24 PM

And the icing (using 1/3 less fat Philadelphia cream cheese):

Screen Shot 2015-09-22 at 9.10.22 PM

And, as I said, I ate one half-sandwich then another, but haven’t actually attempted eating it as a sandwich yet. As pretty and appetizing as it looks, the icing is fairly soft and gooey, so I’m imagining it will be a messy and challenging process, but worth it!

One thought on “Pumpkin oatmeal cookie sandwiches with cinnamon cream cheese icing filling

Leave a Reply

