Pumpkin, pumpkin, pumpkin!

So after making the pumpkin cheesecake cookie sandwich thingies, I had a lot of pumpkin, and some cream cheese, leftover. So I’ve been doing quite a few pumpkin recipes this week, and expect there will be more to come soon, because I’ve still got a fair amount of pumpkin left! (It was a big can)

Pumpkin cheesecake ramekins

First off, to use up the ~4oz left of cream cheese, I made individual-serving pumpkin cheesecake ramekins (I googled for single serving recipes, and found this one that’s technically three servings, but individually baked and portioned, so close enough).

I followed the recipe pretty much exactly (of course using my leftover Philadelphia 1/3 less fat, while the recipe gives a few cheese substitute options), using a real egg (not flax), and I used Lyle’s golden syrup (3 tsps) as my sweetener. I made this very late at night because I was suddenly inspired right before bed that I would want to have this as a snack at work the next day, and so I think I was pretty tired and made a few clumsy goofs (like I poured the vanilla way too fast, and it overflowed the teaspoon and went into the mix; I was able to absorb some up with a paper towel without affecting the rest of the mix but not totally sure how much vanilla wound up in the mix), but overall it worked out well. My other clumsy moments only involved spills on my counter and floor, not in the recipe. The trickiest part was balancing the tray with the water, especially once it was hot. Anyway, photos of progress and results below (batter in bowl, batter in ramekins on water tray before baking, ramekins after baking, and once half eaten):

IMG_2306 IMG_2307 IMG_2308 IMG_2318

And nutritional info:

Screen Shot 2015-09-27 at 9.40.58 PM

Pumpkin french toast

Next up, pumpkin french toast. Now – a confesssion: I’d never actually made french toast at all before this! I was fairly embarrassed about that because I’ve made a lot of pancakes in my day and french toast is the other very common similar breakfast dish that everyone makes, but for some reason I went many many years under the mistaken belief that I didn’t like french toast! I think it was one of those things where the first time I tried it, it wasn’t very well made, and I just wrote it off from that point, and only a year or so ago tried some really, really good french toast and realized the error of my ways.

So anyway, pumpkin french toast is a pretty indulgent twist on french toast for my first try, and while I think I still ought to try a real, full egg version, I ended up finding this slightly lighter recipe using egg whites only. And I tried it two ways: in the pan, and as a baked french toast casserole thing, more based on this method, though sticking with the ingredients from the first recipe.

So when I did it in the pan, it was a bit more of an impulsive decision, and I was working with fresh bread, whereas I planned for the baked version a bit more in advance and let the bread get a bit stale first, though I still just used plain old sliced whole wheat bread for both (Pepperidge Farm) rather than any lovely fancy baguette or challah. And I only used two slices rather than the 3 suggested in the first recipe.

Anyway, here’s the progress/results for each version:

The mix:

IMG_2298 IMG_2299

The prep for the pan version:

IMG_2300 IMG_2301 IMG_2302IMG_2305

The baked casserole ramekin version, before and after baking:

IMG_2327 IMG_2328

I topped the pan version with just a bit of powdered sugar, and when I made the baked version I remembered I have this maple caramel sauce, so I used that as the topping. I liked the baked version a little better, and I think that wasn’t just because of the sauce.

Nutritional info (for both versions, because of using the same ingredients in spite of different cooking and presentation method:

Screen Shot 2015-09-27 at 9.51.56 PM

Pumpkin muffins

Next up, pumpkin muffins. This was another easy, quick blender recipe from Chocolate Covered Katie, and the only things I changed slightly were: 1) using Lyle’s golden syrup instead of maple or honey (and using table sugar for the dry sweetener), 2) using Speculoos Cookie Butter instead of almond butter, and 3) COMPLETELY UNINTENTIONALLY doubling the oats, just because I was doing it by weight on a food scale and misread my label’s grams for 1/2 cup as grams for 1/4 cup.

I used cookie butter because I’m not a fan of almond butter, and while I thought about peanut butter, I actually have had this jar of cookie butter in my pantry for ages that I never get around to eating although it is very good. I think it made the recipe somewhat chocolatey. I think it made it sweeter as well, and I had planned on reducing the sugar accordingly, but forgot entirely about that plan until I got to that point on the ingredient list, after already adding the sugar. And the oats mishap was obviously my biggest faux pas and I’m sure totally changed the consistency of the muffins, so I may have to try again for real to see if they come out more fudgy as described. But they’re not bad as normal muffins, just have somewhat less of the “flourless” texture this is going for (still pretty fudgy in the middle, but quite dry on top).

Photos of the mix and the final muffins:

IMG_2333 IMG_2334

This made 10 (probably would have been 9 without my doubling the oats), and the calories are up a bit due to that mistake, but the cookie butter is actually quite similar to the calorie content of almond butter (though probably not as nutritionally dense), and the resulting nutritional info is:

Screen Shot 2015-09-27 at 9.55.28 PM

Pumpkin based oatmeal

And lastly (for now), pumpkin baked oatmeal, also from CCK. This is another that’s simple and straight forward so I didn’t make any significant changes – I used Lyle’s golden syrup instead of maple or stevia. And I again topped it with a bit of maple caramel syrup. This was yummy and satisfying, although about double the calorie content estimated on that site – I think due to my choice of sweetener.

Progress and results pics:

IMG_2350 IMG_2351 IMG_2352 IMG_2353 IMG_2354

And nutritional info:

Screen Shot 2015-09-27 at 9.56.54 PM

Leave a Reply

